We’re by Your Side When It Matters Most.

Your safety is our priority.

Get your Texas License to Carry (LTC) by completing our comprehensive and Texas DPS approved online training and in-person shooting qualification course. Our experienced instructors will guide you through each step to ensure you have the knowledge and skills you need to not only obtain your Texas LTC, but also carry your firearm safely and legally.

You can obtain your Texas LTC in just three simple steps:

Shield icon

Step 1: Take your online training
(four-hour course)

Explore the ins and outs of firearms safety with the following state mandated topics:

  • Module 1 ‐ Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
  • Module 2 ‐ Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
  • Module 3 – Non‐violent dispute resolution
  • Module 4 ‐ Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child

At the completion of the four-hour online training course you will complete the mandatory online Texas DPS LTC student exam.

Man wearing glasses typing on his laptop at a desk in a home office
Range showing 3 paper silhouette targets

Step 2: Attend your in-person live-fire handgun proficiency demonstration

Our certified instructors will lead you through the state-mandated live-fire handgun proficiency demonstration. This includes a total of 50 rounds being fired. The instructor will train you on how to safely and proficiently complete the demonstration.

At the completion of your online training, you will receive a certificate of completion (Texas LTC‐101) that you will take to your in-person shooting demonstration.

Step 3: Apply for your Texas LTC

After completing your two-part training, apply for your Texas LTC online with the Texas Department of Public Safety. Application instructions will be provided to make the process easy. Your LTC will generally be issued within 60 days.

Two U.S. Post Office mailboxes on a city street
Shield icon

Frequently Asked Questions

In order to obtain the Texas LTC, an applicant must attend a four to six hour in-person or online classroom training, and pass a written examination with a certified instructor.

Classroom training will cover: 

  • Laws related to weapons and the use of deadly force.
  • Handgun use and safety, including controlling and securing openly carried handguns. 
  • Non-violent dispute resolution.
  • Safe storage.

After you pass the online classroom training, you'll need to show that you’re skilled at shooting a handgun by attending a range instruction class. Instructions for completing the handgun shooting qualification will be provided in the course. 

 

The total course completion time will vary somewhat depending on your learning pace, but according to state law it must be a minimum of 4 hours, and a maximum of 6 hours. 

During the course you will find that some lessons limit how quickly you can advance to the next lesson. This is to ensure you have enough time to review the information in the lesson, and also to ensure the course meets the 4 hour minimum training required by law.

See: GC §411.188

 

Yes. In addition to completing this eLearning course, a certified instructor must certify that you completed the state mandated Handgun Proficiency Demonstration.

Once you complete this eLearning course, you will be provided with a certificate of completion verifying the eLearning portion of the training is complete (the Texas LTC-101 form). You will then take that form to any certified instructor who can sign off that you have completed the live fire portion of the training. We will provide a list of certified instructors in your area. Once you complete the live fire exercise, you simply complete the application online and upload a copy of your signed certificate with the application.

Detailed instructions for how to submit the application and complete the live fire exercise will be provided to you during the course.

Once you complete this eLearning course, you will be provided with a certificate of completion verifying the eLearning portion of the training is complete. You will then take that certificate to any certified instructor who can sign off that you have completed the live fire portion of the training.

We will provide a list of certified instructors in your area. Once you complete the live fire exercise, the instructor will sign your certificate. You then simply include a copy of your signed certificate with your completed application packet.

The live-fire qualification must follow a specific format, and consists of a total of 50 rounds being fired, from distances between 3 and 15 yards. 

This course was created by the instructor team at U.S. LawShield.

Founded in 2009, U.S. LawShield, America's premier Legal Defense for Self-Defense® organization, offers coverage in 46 states and has served more than 2 million members. A network of 300+ Independent Program Attorneys is readily available, plus access to a 24/7/365 hotline and protection for members throughout the legal process after acts of self-defense.

The lead instructor for the eLearning portion of this course is Cristobal Martinez, who is a Texas DPS certified instructor.

This course was designed to cover the most essential information you’ll need to know prior to carrying a firearm in Texas.

The course is designed in four modules, which include:

  • Module 1 ‐ Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
  • Module 2 ‐ Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns
  • Module 3 – Non‐violent dispute resolution
  • Module 4 ‐ Proper storage practices for handguns with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.

A person is eligible for a license to carry a handgun if the person:

  • is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license under Section 411.173(a);
  • is at least 21 years of age;
  • has not been convicted of a felony;
  • is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
  • is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense;
  • is not a chemically dependent person;
  • is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
  • has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;
  • is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
  • has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
  • has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
  • is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
  • has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
  • has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174.

See: Tex. Gov't Code Ann. § 411.172

Scroll to Top